American women mayorsWomen mayors in America
Boston elects female mayor

By City Mayors Research

ON OTHER PAGES: Capital cities with women mayors ||| Women mayors in Europe ||| Europe's most powerful female mayors ||| US Supreme Court versus City Halls

November 2021: Some of America’s largest cities, including Chicago, San Francisco, Washington DC and Boston, are governed by women mayors. Most are members of the Democratic Party. Of the 30 largest cities with women as their leaders, only four have Republican mayors. Some 21 cities are led by Democrats, while five mayors are independents.

Carolyn Goodman, Mayor of Las Vegas, who assumed office in 2011, is the longest-serving mayor among the top 30. Five mayors joined the list in 2021.

Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan did not seek re-election and will be succeeded by Bruce Harrell on 1 January 2022.

In Boston, Michelle Wu replaced the city’s first female mayor, Kim Janey, on 16 November 2021. Mayor-elect Janey won the run-off election against another female candidate, Essaibi George.

Greensboro, NC, has postponed its mayoral election until 2022.

Women mayors of the largest US cities
City, State
In office since, Party
Brief notes
Chicago, IL Lori E. Lightfoot Since 2019, Democrat
Phoenix, AZ Kate Gallego Since 2019, Democrat
Fort Worth, TX Mattie Parker Since 2021, Republican
Charlotte, NC Vi Alexander Lyles Since 2017, Democrat
San Francisco, CA London N. Breed Since 2018, Democrat
Seattle, WA Jenny A. Durkan Since 2017, Democrat Bruce Harrell will replace J Durkan Mayor on 1 January 2022
Washington, DC Muriel Bowser Since 2015, Democrat
Boston, MA Michelle Wu Since 2021, Democrat Michelle Wu assumed office on 16 November 2021
Las Vegas, NV Carolyn G. Goodman Since 2011, Independent
Tucson, AZ Regina Romero Since 2019, Democrat
Atlanta, GA Keisha Lance Bottoms Since 2018, Democrat
Omaha, NE Jean Stothert Since 2013, Republican Jean Stothert re-elected for a third term in May 2021
Raleigh, NC Mary-Ann Baldwin Since 2019, Democrat
Oakland, CA Libby Schaaf Since 2015, Democrat
Tampa, FL Jane Castor Since 2019, Democrat
New Orleans, LA LaToya Cantrell Since 2018, Democrat
Bakersfield, CA Karen K. Goh Since 2017, Republican
Riverside, CA Lock Dawson Since 2020, Independent
Islip, NY Angie M. Carpenter Since 2015, Republican
Corpus Christi, TX Paulette M. Guajardo Since 2021, Democrat
Lexington, KY Linda Gorton Since 2019, Independent
Henderson. NV Debra March Since 2017, Democrat
St. Louis, MO Tishaura Jones Since 2021, Democrat
Greensboro, NC Nancy Barakat Vaughan Since 2013, Democrat 2021 mayoral election postponed until 2022
Lincoln, NE Leirion Gaylor Baird Since 2019, Democrat
Irvine, CA Farrah N. Khan Since 2020, Democrat
Chula Vista, CA Mary Casillas Salas Since 2014, Democrat
Madison, WI Satya Rhodes-Conway Since 2019, Democrat
Reno City, NV Hillary L. Schieve Since 2014, Independent
Gilbert Town, AZ Brigette Peterson Since 2021, Independent

The City Mayors Foundation
London SW1

Local government
Women mayors in Europe
Europe's most powerful female mayors
City Equity Offices in America
African American Mayors
French mayors who became heads of state
Salaries of Japanese mayors
European mayors: Power and Politics
Capital cities and their mayors
Code of Ethics for mayors